Introducing the 2018 Design Awards Jury


Frank Harmon, FAIA, is an award-winning architect and author of Native Places, a collection of thoughts and hand-drawn sketches that illustrate the value of looking closely at buildings and places. Beginning with simple sketches, Frank has designed sustainable modern buildings across the Southeast for 30 years. A graduate of the Architectural Association in London, he is a professor at the NC State College of Design, taught at the Architectural Association, and has been a visiting critic at Harvard, the University of Virginia and the Rural Studio at Auburn University. Frank is recognized as a purveyor of good design by his students, peers, and clients. In 2013, he received the F. Carter Williams Gold Medal from the North Carolina chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIANC), the highest honor bestowed upon a North Carolina architect.
He holds numerous awards recognizing his contributions to design and sustainability.


Jennifer Charzewski, AIA is a Principal at Liollio Architecture in Charleston, SC, a 24-person firm that believes in a community-based design approach rooted in culture, context, and collaboration. Jennifer has lead a variety of award-winning projects in the southeast region, including the St. Helena Branch Library at Penn Center, Richland Library Ballentine and St. Andrews, Main Street Children’s Museum, and SC Welcome Centers at Fort Mill and Hardeeville, and is currently working with Charlotte-Mecklenburg Library, Children’s Museum of the Lowcountry, Charleston Fire Department, and the College of Charleston School of the Arts. Jennifer has presented at the Raleigh Urban Design Conference, Library Journal Design Institute, South Carolina Library Association, Wood Utilization + Design Institute, AIA’s South Atlantic Region Conference, and the AIA Leadership Institute in Charleston. Jennifer serves as a NAAB Visiting Team member, is past-President of AIA Charleston, is a certified disaster service worker, and together with her husband is completely outnumbered by three small boys.


Kevan Hoertdoerfer Architects is an architecture practice dedicated to the craft & art of making places and their relationship to the individual.
Kevan Hoertdoerfer, is a native of New York and received his Bachelor of Architecture and Bachelor of Building Science from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute, also studying at CEPT University in Ahmedabad, India. Previously the founder of a design / build firm, and an assistant professor at Yestermorrow Design / Build School in Vermont, in 2003 he founded Kevan Hoertdoerfer Architects. Kevan is also creator and co-director of the non-profit publicity and also remains a licensed contractor and craftsman. Kevan has created numerous site specific art installations in the past 20 years throughout South Carolina ranging in scale from a small room to a full city block. KHA’s architecture projects have been featured in Dwell, Mark magazine and The Wall Street Journal among other publications.


Ray Huff, FAIA has successfully combined the academy and practice to engage questions of architecture and design. This symbiotic relationship has been 31 critical to his work and study for over forty years. Prior to his involvement with the international design practice, Huff+Gooden Architects with partner Mario Gooden, he founded the Clemson Architecture Center in Charleston (CAC.C) where he continues to serve as director. His professional experience include a mentorship with noted Florida architect Donald Singer. In 1974 he established the design practice Synergy Architects in Clemson, South Carolina where he won numerous design awards and taught design studio at Clemson University before relocating to Charleston. Most recently, he received the Clemson Architecture Alumni Achievement Award and named as a member of the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects.In addition to teaching at the CAC.C, Mr. Huff held the distinguished Bishop Chair at Yale University’s Graduate School of Architecture and has lectured at numerous educational institutions and professional societies.


Jaime Luevano-Santana was born and raised in Mexico. He is a Third-Year Architecture student at Clemson University and is currently an intern at the McMillan Pazdan Smith Architecture office in Charleston, SC. Jaime was a founding member of the NOMAS Clemson Chapter and served as the Business Relations Chair. He became a recipient of the Alan Wayne Thompkins Scholarship, as well as the H.C. Mickel & L.C. Mickel Grant. In addition to his studies, Jaime was a national finalist for the SkillsUSA Architectural Drafting Competition, and has earned several awards from Virtual Enterprise International, including his work in the National Business Plan Competition and the Impact Marketing Challenge.




Whitney Powers is a graduate of Mississippi State University’s School of Architecture and Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation. She was named to Progressive Architecture’s Young Architects (1990), NYC Municipal Art Society’s Forty Under Forty of the nation’s leading architects (4th cohort, 1987-1996), and was recognized for her affordable housing work by The Mayors’ Institute on City Design (2002). More recently she was the 2017 recipient of Historic Charleston Foundation’s Women Who IMPACT Preservation Award. Her Charleston-based practice, Studio A, is notable for a broad range of work that stands at the intersection of art and craft, theater and authenticity. A strong advocate for community, she has served on the City of Charleston Board of Architectural Review, SC Community Loan Fund board of directors, Charleston Moves board of directors, the Charleston Council for International Visitors, and is the co-founder of the If You Were Mayor® website promoting civic engagement and livability.